top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureSam

Preparing and Packing for Camping

Updated: Jul 19, 2022

Before any decent camping trip we have to get prepared. Many places we camp have no shops handy so we have to think about what we will need for the whole time we will be away. Preparing and packing for camping doesn't have to be a chore every time. I like to feel organised so I have lists that I can whip out at any time to save thinking about the same things every trip!

What do you need on your list?

Camping list for preparing and packing for camping
Preparing and Packing for Camping

Clothes

One of the main things we must pack is obviously, clothes. We each have a bag and a list so we don't forget to pack anything. My Camping Clothes List includes toiletries and all the "other stuff" we like to take. The Kids Camping Clothes List includes any entertainment I like to pack for them. I have a backpack I keep stocked with pencils, paper, card games etc.

Food

Remote camping in particular requires serious meal planning. I pre cook meals and freeze if we are doing bigger trips. I also freeze all our meat in separate dinner lots according to my meal plan. First I work out how many days and nights we will be away and then work out how many of each meal we'll need to pack. Eg - Breakfast x 7, Lunch x 7, Dinner x 7 (I usually think about the last dinner but no need to pack it because we would usually be home for it.)

Then I think about what kind of dinner we will have each night. Will we BBQ, re-heat a frozen meal or cook in the Camp Oven? From here I can prepare a meal plan and a grocery list.

I have a Camping Food List and also a Camping Gear List of what we pack for cooking, cleaning and generally living away from home. I have 3 containers that I keep packed, that live in our camper. A cutlery box (which is also handy for day trips) and 2 cooking/cleaning boxes which house things like spray oil, paper plates, toilet paper, rubbish bags and saucepans. Then all our bedding & towels live inside the camper.

Gear

Then there's all the big stuff on the Camping Shed Gear List; like the camping toilet, shower, kayaks you name it, it's on the list that stays out in our shed. The husband is responsible for this list as the shed is his domain!

If this has given you some inspiration for preparing and packing for camping, check out my lists and modify them to suit yourself. It's one less thing to do each trip. I hope you feel more prepared now and I've helped make life a little easier!

26 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page